project365 – January 21, 2015 – Mountain selfie

20150121_125954

Here I am, looking very serious, when in actuality I am just very tired. I had just climbed a cat 3 hill on my mountain bike, ascending nearly 1000 ft at 14% average grade. It’s not my first time up this particular hill, but it is always a rush, and always rewarding. It’s hard, it’s tiring, and it’s a remarkable test of will power and determination. It is totally worth it. The view from the top is astounding, and the feeling of accomplishment is always overwhelming. My secondary goal was to take a few pictures of the fabulous view. I took a fair number of shots, but I wasn’t happy with the results from my puny little phone camera. I fully believe in the saying that the best camera is the one you have with you, but sometimes it does disappoint. Out of all my choices, I opted for this selfie. I like the sun’s starburst coming in from the bottom right. It helps wash out the contrast on my face (I’ll take all of that I can get!), and I’d say it gives an interesting look to a rather boring cell phone selfie.

One thought on “project365 – January 21, 2015 – Mountain selfie

  1. Pingback: project365 – January 22, 2015 – Caveman selfie | phlogged

Leave a Reply

