project365 – January 16, 2015 – Light painting with toothbrushes

DSC_1598

I enlisted my two little helpers for this photographic experiment. This experiment has scientifically proven with absolute certainty that 1) The kids aren’t afraid of the dark. 2) Photography is fun. 3) Brushing teeth is fun. and 4) We need a towel rack in this bathroom. My technique for this photo was simple. I set the camera to manual mode, 10 second exposure, f3.5, iso 200. The speedlight flash was set to fire rear curtain. While I don’t think it technically matters if the flash fires at the beginning or the end of the exposure, I wanted to capture their faces and expressions as they were dancing around in the dark, so rear curtain worked best. I set the camera down on the counter top, prefocused, and turned the lights off and shut the door. Then we turned on the flashing lights on their toothbrushes and I told them to dance, wiggle, wave it around, whatever they wanted. We tried a few times and this was my top pick of the bunch. It was a lot of fun and the kids loved seeing the results!

Leave a Reply

