project365 – March 30, 2012 – Call me Thurston

Thurston Howell III that is! For some reason the thought of winning the lotto and becoming a millionaire remind me of Mr. Howell on Gilligan’s Island. It’s so sad that he had all that money, yet no way to spend, or invest it. I have fond memories of watching this show at my grandmas house, in the back room, after school on weekdays. Poor silly naive Gilligan and company, they were so close to being rescued so many times, but he would always manage to mess it up somehow. As you probably well know, it’s virtually impossible to bring up a discussion about Gilligan’s Island and not ask the most important question: Ginger or Mary Ann? I officially cast my vote for Mary Ann, although I wouldn’t throw Ginger out of bed either… Cast your vote in the comments section. Anyhow, back to my lotto ticket. Not only is this little bad boy going to make me rich, but I was able to use it to practice a remote flash technique that I learned on the strobist’s lighting 101 blog section. That is to place the flash remotely on a stand, at a height that is about level with the paper, and have it shoot across the top of said paper. The idea is that the light going across the top will cause little micro shadows across any texture, making it seem to pop right off the page, giving it a raised or almost 3d kind of look. I took quite a few shots of this lotto ticker until I was happy with it. I ended up raising the flash slightly above the table and just ever so slightly pointing it down. This was of course taken with my Nikon D80 and 60mm macro lens.

One thought on “project365 – March 30, 2012 – Call me Thurston

  1. Update, I didn’t quite reveal it in my post, but I am posting this well after the drawing has taken place, and sadly, I am not the next Thurston Howell, didn’t win a cent 😦

    But I still vote for Mary Ann!

Leave a Reply

