project365 – March 28, 2012 – Helicopter round 2

I’m back with another helicopter escapade (last one here). Let me just say, I have awesome friends. Another friend gave me another helicopter! This one came from amazon, where it is an absolute bargain price at about $20, and this thing flies spectacularly! It’s hovering capabilities are superb, once the trim is set right, it can stay just about motionless in the air. The proof is in the pudding, I was both the pilot and the photographer, and I was still able to capture a bunch of great images of this thing, in mid flight! I used a similar technique as a previous roomba post, where I had the chopper hovering in a pitch black room, I snapped the shutter with the flash firing first, followed by a 10 second open shutter. After the initial flash captured a still image of the bird, I flew it around in circles so that the blinking LED could paint streaks of light around the frame. This was captured with my Nikon D80 and SB-600 flash. In hindsight I wish I had paid better attention to the background and flown to the right just a little before hitting the shutter, but I’m happy with what I got given the one man fly and shoot routine.

Leave a Reply

