project365 – March 6, 2012 – I pine for you

It’s a shame, all these babies fall to the ground every year, and so few of them make it into adulthood, or even adolescence for that matter. My son certainly doesn’t help any, any time he spots a baby tree laying on the ground, he can’t help but pick it up and put it into his collection bin, i.e. my pocket, or hand. It does make for an interesting collection on our counter at home though. This particular baby tree was found on a walk up in the mountains, on a trip with his grandma, my dear Mom. It’s still sitting on one of our counters somewhere…

This picture was taken with my Nikon D80, 60mm macro lens, and flash bounced camera north. I actually took this in my mostly bright white kitchen sink to get the background to look this way. I bounced the flash right into the sink, with the black foamie thing blocking most of the direct flash on the pine cone.

Leave a Reply

